About Me

SJ headshot 2017

Background and Education

My family left India in the 1930’s and went to Malawi, East Africa. From there they came to the UK in 1972. I was born and brought up in London and read Chemistry at Kings College London.

Career

I started off working in The City for a few years, initially with Bankers Trust International in Appold St. I moved into the energy sector almost 18 years ago and have established myself within the technology and engineering space, helping new companies to commercialise their innovations in new territories.

My career has allowed me to work extensively in Western & Eastern Europe, Central Asia, North America, Brazil and South East Asia . This has provided me with a truly global outlook, which in turn has helped me better understand the outward looking nature and relevance of the City on this stage.

I also undertake speaking and panel roles, with some of the thought leading organisations within my sector. Past highlights have included speaking at World Bank and EBRD events, related to implementing innovative technologies to reduce carbon emmissions.

Charity

I am a Trustee with Real Action, a literacy based charity in the Mozart Estate, as well as a Trustee for my livery Company’s Charitable Trust Fund, which has enabled me to actively build working relations with Inner City schools. I am also involved with the Joshi Foundation, focused on educating over 300 young children in developing economies, who would otherwise not receive a basic education.

 IMG_0137[1] copy       IMG_0133[3] copy

Lord Chancellor’s Advisory Panel for West London

I have held a voluntary position within the Department of Justice from 2012-2017, involved in the recruitment of Justices of the Peace within the West London area, out of the City of London Magistrates Court. This involved interviewing people from all backgrounds, different ethnicities, age groups and political views, to ensure that the Magistracy was representative and capable of delivering justice.

 city-of-london-magistrates-court-af8n36

Family and Extra Curricular

I am married with 2 children (13 and 9) and like to spend my time travelling abroad to experience new places and cultures with the family.

I enjoy cricket, as well as watching as much Formula 1 as I can, whilst battling with the kids for the TV remote.

City activities

Liveryman of the Worshipful Company of Fuellers (Master 2018-2019)

Liveryman of the Worshipful Company of Blacksmiths

Coleman Street Ward Club member

Bishopsgate Ward Club member

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: